Step-by-step guide: How to activate and deactivate a dictionary in HelpNDoc

To support your specific requirements, HelpNDoc allows you to select the dictionaries that are used by the live spell checker. You may activate one or more dictionaries at a time. It is also easy to deactivate a dictionary.

List of active spell check dictionaries
The dictionaries that are currently being used by the spell checker for your project are listed in the lower left-hand corner of your page. There are two ways to activate and deactivate dictionaries.

Activate or deactive dictionaries using the popup menu

Options 1

Click the downward arrow to the right of the currently activated dictionaries, which are displayed in the lower left-hand corner of your page.

Dictionaries list

This displays a menu of dictionaries that you may use in your projects.

A check mark indicates the dictionary has been activated. As a result of being activated, the dictionary is used by the spell checker for this project. You may activate more than one dictionary at a time. As a result, you will not deactivate any currently selected dictionaries when you activate a new dictionary.

To activate a new dictionary, click it. To deactivate a dictionary, click the check mark to remove it. This closes the menu and displays the currently activated dictionaries in the lower left-hand corner of your page, as shown above.


Access the spelling options

Option 2

Click the spelling options icon in the lower left-hand corner of your page. This opens a window that displays the settings for your spell check.

Activate dictionaries using the spelling options dialog
The third section of this window displays the dictionaries that have been activated for your project. To activate new or deactivate existing dictionaries, click the downward arrow to the right. This displays a list of the dictionaries that are currently available. Click to check the ones to activate and un-check the ones to deactivate. To save your update and close the window, click OK in the lower right-hand corner of your window.

When you deactivate a dictionary, it won’t be used to spell check your project anymore. You are not removing the dictionary from HelpNDoc though: the dictionary remains available. As a result, you may reactivate it later for your project or apply it to other projects in the future.